Skip to content

The titled clubs in history

The French Ligue 1 remains one of the most attractive in Europe. Indeed, in recent years it has attracted more and more international stars. We still remember the arrival of the Argentinian prodigy the six-time Golden Ball Lionel Messi last summer in the Parisian capital. If PSG is still the club capable of affording the best players, the other teams also have quite interesting squads. This 2021-2022 season has seen PSG’s 10th coronation, which is up to Saint Etienne until then at the head of the most successful clubs in the championship. Back to the list of clubs that have been crowned in the French elite division.

Saint Etienne the leader of the ranking

The Saint-Etienne club is the most successful club in Ligue 1. It has 10 titles as much as PSG. You have to go back to 1957 to see Saint Etienne win their first title. The team trained by Snella finished first in the championship with 49 points ahead of Lens and Reims. 7 years later, the team returns to victory by gleaning a new title. From 1967, Saint Etienne went on to win 4 championship titles (1967, 68, 69, 70).

From 1974 to 1976 under the direction of coach R. Herbin, Saint Etienne won 3 titles in a row. The last coronation of the club from Saint-Etienne dates back to 1981 when the formation led by R. Herbin finished first with 57 points. He is ahead of FC Nantes (55 points) and Bordeaux (49 points).

PSG co-leader of the ranking

With Saint Etienne, the Ile-de-France club leads the ranking of clubs titled in Ligue 1. It was under Gérard Houillier that PSG won its first title in 1986. The fans will wait 8 years to exult with joy under a new coronation in 1994. 2011 the club is bought by the Qatari group QSI. And the PSG changes dimension and recruits good players on the summer market. The Parisian club will bring on its bench the Italian technician Carlo Ancelotti.

It is also with him that the club won its third title ahead of Marseille and Lyon. The following year, Ancelotti gave way to the 98 world champion Laurent Blanc who won the championship. In 2015, PSG retained their title ahead of Olympique Lyonnais and AS Monaco. Still under the management of Laurent Blanc, the club from the French capital won its sixth title in 2016. PSG obtained a record 96 points in the history of Ligue 1.

The French technician will leave the PSG bench after the elimination of the Ile-de-France club in the Champions League. He will make way for Spanish tactician Unai Emery who takes PSG to the national crown in 2018. But the adventure of the Iberian technician is cut short, and PSG recruits Thomas Tuchel to replace him. This one wins in 2019 and 2020 the two league titles 1 of these 2 seasons. Finally this 2021-2022 season under the direction of Mauricio Pochettino, PSG won the 10th league title 1.

The solid third Marseille club

With 9 titles, Olympique de Marseille follows the two most successful clubs in Ligue 1. In 1937 under the management of Eisenhoffer, the club is crowned French champion for the first time in history. In 1948, it was Zilizzi who took Marseille to the national title for the second time. Then Leduc leads the club to the coronation in 1971 ahead of Saint Etienne and FC Nantes. The following year, Marseille retains its title passing in front of Nîmes and Sochaux.

Under the direction of G. Gili, the Marseille club won two league titles (1989, 1990). Gili passes the baton to R. Goethals who brings Marseille to the crown in 1991 and 1992. After this victory, nine years passed without the Marseille team reaching the title. It was not until 2010 that Didier Deschamps brought OM to the club’s last league title. That season, the club scored 78 points and was 6 points ahead of Olympique Lyonnais and 7 units AJ Auxerre.

Other league winners

Apart from the 3 behemoths, other clubs have also enjoyed success in the league by winning titles. This is the case of FC Nantes which has won 8 titles in the history of the competition. The first two were won in 1965 and 1966. The other six were won in 1973, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1995 and 2001. Equal with FC Nantes, AS Monaco won their first title in 1961. They returned to the success two years later.

In 1978, the Monegasque club won its third national title. Four years later, Monaco obtains a new title of champion (4th). 1988, 1997, 2000 and 2001 are the years of the last coronations of the Monegasque club. Following Monaco and Nantes, Olympique Lyonnais is the 6th biggest winner in Ligue 1. Les Gones dominated the French championship from 2002 to 2008. They won 7 titles in a row, a record in the history of the League 1.

Bordeaux and Reims have each won 6 national titles. The Bordelais won their coronations in 1950, 84, 85, 87, 99 and finally in 2009. The Rémois won their first title in 1949. The second came in 1953. The last 4 were won in 1955, 58, 60 and 62. Lille and Nice are tied for titles with 4 units each. Lille won in 1933, 46, 54 and 2011 while Nice won in 1951, 52, 56 and 1959.

Sète and Sochaux each won 2 league 1 titles. The first had its trophies in 1934 and 1939 while the Sochaux won their coronations in 1935 and 1938. For the rest, these are clubs which each have only one title. These are Montpellier (2012), Lens (1998), Racing Paris (1936), Auxerre (1996), Roubaix (1947) and Strasbourg (1979).

Summary of league 1 results

1. Saint Etienne (10)
2. Paris Saint Germain (10)
3. Olympic Marseille (9)
4. FC Nantes (8)
5. AS Monaco (8)
6. Lyons (7)
7. Burgundy (6)
8. Reims (6)
9. Lille (4)
10.Nice (4)
11. Sete (2)
12. Sochaux (2)
13. Montpellier (1)
14. Lens (1)
15. Racing Paris (1)
16. AJ Auxerre (1)
17. Roubaix (1)
18.Strasbourg (1).

While waiting for the start of the 2022-2023 season, here is an update on the titled clubs in the history of the French championship. With PSG’s workforce, there is no doubt that the capital club will dethrone Saint Etienne in the coming seasons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.