Soccer. A Ballon d’Or with a brand new face awarded this Monday night

Ballon d’Or ceremony, this Monday, from 8:30 p.m., on the Théâtre du Châtelet, in Paris

The Ballon d’Or modifications system. For its 66th version, the trophy rewarding the very best participant and the very best participant on the earth is renewed. After rewarding gamers for his or her performances over a calendar 12 months, the trophy now aligns with the sporting season calendar and takes into consideration the entire 2021-2022 monetary 12 months, together with the October 2021 Males’s Nations League, identical to the Ladies’s Euro of July 2022 for the feminine distinction.

The award standards have additionally been modified. “Particular person performances” and the “decisive and spectacular character of the contenders” would be the essential criterion, forward of “the collective side and the trophies gained” and “the participant’s class and his sense of honest play”.

Benzema, ultra-favorite

Below the previous or the brand new circumstances, Karim Benzema is the large favourite to succeed Lionel Messi, his season has been so spectacular: 44 targets and 15 assists in 46 video games (15 targets in 12 Champions League video games) with the Actual Madrid ; winner of his fifth Champions League, his fourth Spanish championship and his fourth Spanish Supercup. The Actual Madrid captain, 35 in December, additionally added six targets to his tally for the France nationwide staff and a victory within the Nations League.

From 170 to 100 voters

New version says new jury. There are solely 100 voters left, journalists from the highest 100 nations within the Fifa rankings (in opposition to 170 beforehand). A number of nations are subsequently offside, similar to Kenya, Madagascar, Lithuania and Kosovo. For the Ladies’s Ballon d’Or, there are 50 voters. The preselection of 30 gamers and 20 gamers was established by a committee, made up of the editorial workers of France Soccer and L’Équipe, in addition to former star Didier Drogba.

Along with the Ballons d’Or, the gala held on the Théâtre du Châtelet presents different rewards. The Kopa trophy will salute the very best younger participant of the season, aged underneath 21. The Yachine Trophy will crown the very best goalkeeper.

A brand new award, the “Socrates Prize”, shall be reserved for footballers concerned in societal and charitable initiatives. Lastly, the highest scorer is rewarded with the Gerd Müller trophy.

Apart from Karim Benzema, different French individuals are nominated within the completely different classes. Christopher Nkunku, Mike Maignan (additionally nominated for the Yachine trophy) and Kylian Mbappé for the boys’s Ballon d’Or. Selma Bacha, Kadidiatou Diani, Marie-Antoinette Katoto and Wendie Renard for the Ladies’s Ballon d’Or. Eduardo Camavinga is nominated for the Kopa trophy and Hugo Lloris is within the working for the Yachine trophy.

Males’s Ballon d’Or nominees : Trent Alexander-Arnold (ENG, Liverpool), Karim Benzema (FRA, Actual Madrid), Joao Cancelo (POR, Manchester Metropolis), Casemiro (BRA, Manchester United), Thibaut Courtois (BEL, Actual Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR , Manchester United), Kevin De Bruyne (BEL, Manchester Metropolis), Luis Diaz (COL, FC Porto then Liverpool), Fabinho (BRA, Liverpool), Phil Foden (ENG, Manchester Metropolis), Erling Haaland (NOR, Borussia Dortmund then Manchester Metropolis), Sébastien Haller (CIV, Ajax Amsterdam then Borussia Dortmund), Harry Kane (ENG, Tottenham), Joshua Kimmich (GER, Bayern Munich), Rafael Leao (POR, AC Milan), Robert Lewandowski (POL, Bayern Munich then FC Barcelona), Riyad Mahrez (ALG, Manchester Metropolis), Mike Maignan (FRA, AC Milan), Sadio Mané (SEN, Liverpool then Bayern Munich), Kylian Mbappé (FRA, Paris SG), Luka Modric (CRO, Actual Madrid) , Christopher Nkunku (FRA, RB Leipzig), Darwin Nuñez (URU, Benfica then Liverpool), Antonio Rüdiger (GER, Chelsea then Actual Madrid), Mohamed Salah (EGY, Liverpool), Bernard o Silva (POR, Manchester Metropolis), Son Heung-min (KOR, Tottenham), Virgil van Dijk (NED, Liverpool), Vinicius Jr (BRA, Actual Madrid), Dusan Vlahovic (SRB, Fiorentina then Juventus Turin).

Ladies’s Ballon d’Or nominees : Selma Bacha (FRA, Lyon), Aitana Bonmati (ESP, FC Barcelona), Millie Vivid (ENG, Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (ENG, Manchester Metropolis then FC Barcelona), Kadidiatou Diani (FRA, Paris SG), Christiane Endler ( CHL, Lyon), Ada Hegerberg (NOR, Lyon), Marie-Antoinette Katoto (FRA, Paris SG), Sam Kerr (AUS, Chelsea), Catarina Macario (USA, Lyon), Beth Mead (ENG, Arsenal), Vivianne Miedema (NED, Arsenal), Alex Morgan (USA, Pleasure from Orlando then Wave from San Diego), Lena Oberdorf (GER, Wolfsburg), Asisat Oshoala (NGA, FC Barcelona), Alexandra Popp (GER, Wolfsburg), Alexia Putellas ( ESP, FC Barcelona), Wendie Renard (FRA, Lyon), Trinity Rodman (USA, Washington Spirit), Fridolina Rolfö (SWE, FC Barcelona).

The nominees for the Kopa trophy : Karim Adeyemi (GER, RB Salzburg then Borussia Dortmund), Jude Bellingham (ENG, Borussia Dortmund), Eduardo Camavinga (FRA, Actual Madrid), Gavi (ESP, FC Barcelona), Ryan Gravenberch (PB, Ajax then Bayern Munich), Josko Gvardiol (CRO, RB Leipzig), Nuno Mendes (POR, Sporting Portugal then PSG), Jamal Musiala (GER, Bayern Munich), Bukayo Saka (ENG, Arsenal), Florian Wirtz (GER, Bayer Leverkusen).

Yachine Trophy nominees : Thibaut Courtois (BEL, Actual Madrid), Mike Maignan (FRA, AC Milan), Alisson Becker (BRE, Liverpool), Yassine Bounou (MAR, Sevilla FC), Ederson (BRE, Manchester Metropolis), Hugo Lloris (FRA, Tottenham ), Édouard Mendy (SEN, Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (GER, Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (SLN, Atlético Madrid), Kevin Trapp (GER, Eintracht Frankfurt).

All soccer information

Leave a Comment