Skip to content

Emotion will be there during the Trophy Ceremony

“What will make this evening even more interesting is that the presenters will be on site. They’re going to be the center of the show, maybe even more so than some of the recipients,” said NHL Chief Content Officer and Senior Executive Vice President Steve Mayer.

The 2022 Awards Ceremony will be held at Armature Works in Tampa (7 p.m. ET; ESPN, SN, TVAS) on the day between Stanley Cup Games 3 and 4 between the Colorado Avalanche and the Colorado Lightning. Tampa Bay.

Five trophies will be awarded during this one-hour gala, which will be hosted by actor Kenan Thompson.

The Hart trophies (most valuable player to his team), Vézina (best goaltender), Norris (best defender), Calder (rookie of the year) and Ted Lindsay (best player according to the members of the AJLNH) will be presented during of this evening.

A seat will also be reserved for the already known winners of nine other trophies during the evening, as well as Noel Acton, the recipient of the Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award. In addition, the winner of the EJ McGuire Award of Excellence, given to the prospect of the next draft who most represents excellence through his strength of character, his level of competitiveness and his athletic abilities, will be announced.

Finally, the three finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year trophy will be announced. The winner of this title will be announced during the first round of the repechage on July 7 at the Bell Center in Montreal.

“It will be nice to see this trophy presented to a GM in front of his peers,” Mayer said of the draft night.

For the past two years, the Awards Ceremony has taken on a different format, consisting of video footage filmed at various locations, rather than its usual big show held in Las Vegas due to the pandemic.

“It will be completely different this year. We’re going to try to replicate as much of what we were doing in Vegas as much as possible,” Mayer explained.

The theme of the show, however, will have nothing to do with the neon lights, glitter and stars of Las Vegas. This year, the presenters will above all be people whose stories have moved hockey fans.

Presenters will include:

Seattle Kraken fan Nadia Popovici, who told the Vancouver Red Hamilton Canucks equipment attendant through the bay window that he had a cancerous mole on his neck. Popovici and Hamilton will be reunited during the evening.

Calgary Flames assistant general manager Chris Snow, who has amyotrophic lateral sclerosis and who sponsors the cause, will be present with his wife Kelsie, as well as their children Cohen and Willa.

Jake Thibeault, an Academy hockey player from Milton, Massachusetts, who was paralyzed during a game in September 2021.

Emergency goaltender Thomas Hodges, who, despite being blind in one eye, played one relief game with the Anaheim Ducks this season.

Martin Lafleur, the son of the late Montreal Canadiens legend Guy Lafleur, will present an award moments after a tribute to the fallen of the past year.

Juggling scenarios

Mayer’s plan was ambitious: organize a ceremony broadcast live from the city of one of the two Stanley Cup finalists, specifically the one that would host Games 3 and 4 of the final. So he and his team had to juggle scenarios as the series between the Lightning and the New York Rangers stretched to six games.

“During the playoffs, we had to go visit the cities and do our research,” he explained. Where were we going to hold our party? In Edmonton? At New York? We also thought it would be in Carolina at some point. It was fun, but it was also hard to do all that research, find great places, and not be sure. When Tampa finally won, we signed the deal. »

The evening will be held in front of 350 people at Armature Work’s, “a nice open space, all brick inside,” Mayer said. People will be seated at tables, not in bleachers. It will feel a bit like the Golden Globes, rather than the Tony Awards.

“It will be really different, unique and intimate. We wanted to try the experience. We have always held this ceremony in an arena or a theatre. For the first time, we adopt this format. »

Of course, there will be NHL stars in the crowd, but Mayer hopes the presenters and their stories will not only engage viewers, but inspire them as well.

“These incredible people and their journeys have really caught the eye this year,” Mayer said. It made me think, and I thought it would be really nice to be able to bring them together to be our presenters. Those who will be in Tampa are great inspirations. I can’t wait to see them go on stage and tell their story.

“In an evening like this, we want to create emotions. Whether it’s Kenan Thompson who makes you laugh, or you’re moved to tears listening to one of these amazing stories, we hope viewers will be inspired to be better and help causes by witnessing people who have had to overcome hardships and who want to tell their story. »

The trophies that will be presented during the ceremony

Hart Trophy, most valuable player to his team, voted by the Professional Hockey Journalists Association (PHWA)
: Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs; Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers; Igor ShesterkinNew York Rangers

Vézina Trophy, best goaltender, voted by the general managers of the NHL
: Jacob MarkstromCalgary Flames; Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators; Igor Shesterkin, New York Rangers

Norris Trophy, best defender, voted by the PHWA
: Victor HedmanTampa Bay Lightning, Roman JosiNashville Predators; Hold MakarColorado Avalanche

Calder Trophy, Rookie of the Year, voted by the PHWA
: Michael BuntingToronto Maple Leafs; Trevor ZegrasAnaheim Ducks; Moritz SeiderDetroit Red Wings

Ted Lindsay Trophy, best player in the NHL, voted by the members of the AJLNH
: Roman Josi, Nashville Predators; Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs; Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.