Skip to content

DP Tour, a timeline from 1972 to 2022

The 2022 season marks the 50th anniversary of the European Tour, now known as the DP World Tour, and the official website continues to mark this special stage by reviewing some of the highlights and accolades along the way. of the Tower.

DP Tour, timeline

After 20 years of struggling to revolutionize the structure of golf tournaments in Europe, John Jacobs (OBE), the founding father of the Tour, chaired the first season of the European Tour, now known as the DP World Tour, in 1972.

Sam Torrance, Sir Henry Cotton rookie of the year in 1972, brings us back to the last fifty years on the Tour. April 12, 1972: The Spanish Open at the Pals Golf Club in Girona – won by Spaniard Antonio Garrido – becomes the circuit’s first official event.

January 1, 1975: Ken Schofield is appointed first secretary and executive director of the Tour, replacing Jacobs. April 15, 1982: The Tunisian Open at El Kantaoui Golf Club is the first tournament outside Europe as part of a Tour program aimed at globalizing the professional game.

March 2, 1989: The Tour visits Asia for the first time as part of its program for the Dubai Desert Classic. February 16, 1995: The Tour begins co-sanctioning tournaments with other Tours, beginning with the Southern African Tour (now Sunshine Tour) which organizes the South African PGA Championship.

January 25, 1996: Co-sanctioning agreements expand with the addition of the PGA Tour of Australasia’s Heineken Classic to the Tour schedule. May 21, 1995: Seve Ballesteros, who remains the most decorated player in Tour history, wins his 50th and final Spanish Open title.

April 14, 1996: Sir Nick Faldo wins the Masters, his sixth Major and his final victory on the DP World Tour, becoming the Tour’s most decorated member at a Major Championship – a record he still holds. February 24, 1999: The World Golf Championships (WGC) were established in 1999, with the WGC Match Play Championship being the first of three season events to be part of the tour’s expanding schedule.

January 1, 2005: George O’Grady succeeds Ken Schofield as the Tour’s third general manager. October 30, 2005: Colin Montgomerie wins his record eighth Order of Merit. April 1, 2007: Pablo Martín Benavides becomes the first amateur in history to win a Tour event with his victory at the Estoril Open de Portugal.

Danny Lee and Shane Lowry have since matched that feat. 6 November 2008: The HSBC Champions, the opening event of the 2009 circuit calendar, marks the start of the ‘Race to Dubai’ which replaces the Order of Merit.

The top 60 finishers in the Race to Dubai qualify for the Dubai World Championship presented by DP World. November 22, 2009: Lee Westwood wins the inaugural Dubai World Championship and takes the lead in the Race to Dubai standings. October 24, 2010: At only 17 years and 188 days old, Matteo Manassero becomes the youngest winner on the circuit with his victory at the CASTELLO MASTERS.

January 1, 2014: David Williams becomes President of the Tour. May 18, 2014: Miguel Ángel Jiménez extends his own record as the oldest Tour winner with his victory at the Spanish Open, aged 50 years and 133 days.

April 17, 2015: Keith Pelley is announced as the Tour’s new general manager. 11 October 2016: The inaugural Hero Challenge, launched as a one-hole knockout competition involving Tour players, is held ahead of the British Masters at The Grove.

May 25, 2017: The BMW PGA Championship is the first tournament to be part of the Rolex Series, a premium category of tournaments offering higher prize money and featuring the Tour’s best players. September 21, 2018: England’s Oliver Fisher becomes the first player in Tour history, and so far the only one, to register a 59 in the second round of the Portugal Masters.

August 27, 2020: Brendan Lawlor becomes the first disabled golfer to compete in a Tour event at the ISPS Handa UK Championship. [Brendan Lawlor-1268700762] October 29, 2020: The Aphrodite Cyprus Open at Aphrodite Hills Resort will see Cyprus become the 50th different country to host an event in Tour history.

November 27, 2020: The DP World Tour and the PGA TOUR announce a historic strategic alliance, which will see the two major golf tours collaborate on a number of areas including global programming, prize funds, playing opportunities for respective members and business opportunities.

February 21, 2022: The DP World Tour kicks off G4D (Golf for the Disabled) with a minimum of seven events, culminating in the G4D Grand Final in Dubai. June 10, 2021: As part of the Tour’s commitment to inclusion in golf, the first Scandinavian Mixed Hosted by Henrik & Annika – a co-sanctioned event with the Ladies European Tour – is hosted at Vallda Golf and Country Club near Gothenburg.

July 9, 2021: The DP World Tour and the Sunshine Tour announce a new historic partnership, in the continuity of their long-standing relationship, in order to improve the existing international route between the two circuits. July 29, 2021: The ISPS HANDA World Invitational, another mixed event where men and women play for the same prize, is elevated to DP World Tour status and is co-sanctioned by the LPGA Tour and the Ladies European Tour.

September 5, 2021: The Højgaard twins, Rasmus and Nicolai, become the first brothers in Tour history to win the Omega European Masters and Italian Open back-to-back. November 21, 2021: Collin Morikawa becomes the first American to win the Race to Dubai, now known as the DP World Tour Rankings, as he also wins the DP World Tour Championship.

November 9, 2021: DP World is announced as the official partner of the Tour. January 12, 2022: DP World Tour and ISPS Handa PGA Tour of Australasia extend their strategic alliance, announced in 2017, until 2026.

Other milestones in the history of the European Tour group Since its inception in 1976, the qualifying school has provided players around the world with a platform to access the DP World Tour. The first event of the European Satellite Tour (today the Challenge Tour) took place in 1989 at the Open dei Tessali, won by Englishman Neal Briggs.

The European Senior Tour, which became the Legends Tour, was launched in 1992 and included the Senior Open – organized for the first time in 1987 – in its programme.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.