Skip to content

Complete list of the competition

The Champions League is quite simply the queen of European cups organized by UEFA. It brings together each season the best teams from the different championships for a period of 9 months of competition. The cup has evolved over time and its current format consists of 8 groups of 4 teams who play a home and away match. Then follows the knockout stages which are also played back and forth and so on until the final which is played in a single match. This season, it was the merengue club Real Madrid who won their 14th Champions League. But do you know the other big-eared cup winners? Here they are !

Real Madrid alone in the world in the Champions League

With its 14th title won last May, Real Madrid enters even more into the history of the Champions League. The club from the Spanish capital has twice as many titles as its runner-up. Which is a feat to say the least. If in the first years of the cup, the Los Blancos had won 5 rank successes, they still marked the spirits in contemporary times.

Indeed since the competition was renamed the Champions League in 1993, Real Madrid is the only club to have won the title 3 times in a row. No club outside the Madrid club has managed to win two years in a row. The history of Real begins with the start of the cup in 1956. The Spanish club won the first 5 editions.

In 1966, Real Madrid returned to success after 6 years of scarcity. He won his final against Partizan Belgrade. In 1998 at the Amsterdam ArenA stadium, the Spanish club has Juventus Turin for its 7th Champions League title. Twelve years have passed before we see Real Madrid again on the roof of Europe.

It was thanks to a final at the Stade de France in St Denis against Valence. That evening, Real Madrid dominated their opponents by winning by a score of 3-0. In 2002, it was on a classy action by Zinedine Zidane (volley from the left) that Real won against Bayer Leverkusen. With 9 league titles, Real Madrid is alone in the standings.

The wait for the Decima was long and will take 12 years. In 2014, Real Madrid won their 10th trophy by beating rivals Atlético de Madrid 4-1 after extra time. It should be noted that in the final minutes of added time, Sergio Ramos equalized for the merengue club with a header. Two years later bis repetita, the two teams meet again in the final. This time, it was on penalties that the Madrid club won (5 pens 3).

Los Blancos went on to 2017 and 2018 becoming the only club to win the Champions League in its current format 3 times in a row. All this was under the direction of Zinedine Zidane. In 2017, the club beat Juventus Turin 4-1, while in 2018 it was against Liverpool that Zidane’s foals won the final (3-1).

Then this 2021-2022 season, Real Madrid obtained the 14th victory in the competition by beating Liverpool FC on the only goal of the match scored by Vinicius Junior. Let’s highlight the enormous performance of Karim Benzema’s teammates who, since the round of 16, have overthrown all the favorites. These are PSG, Chelsea and Manchester City.

AC Milan solid runner-up to Real Madrid

In second position in our ranking of titled teams in C1, we find the Italian club AC Milan with 7 titles. The first coronation of the Lombard formation dates back to 1963 against Benfica. AC Milan won 2-1. Six years later, it was against Ajax Amsterdam that the Italian club won their second cup (4-1).

It took two decades to see the Lombard club reach the final and face Steaua Bucharest. It is on a final score of 4-0 that AC Milan wins its 3rd title. A year later, AC Milan won another cup against Benfica. In 1994, the Milanese club thrashed FC Barcelona, ​​despite being the big favourite.

In 2003 in a tasteless and tasteless final, AC Milan managed to beat Juventus Turin on penalties (3 tab 2) after a goalless draw. Finally in 2007, the Milanese club trained by Carlo Ancelotti found Liverpool after the disappointment of 2005, and won 2-1 after extra time.

Bayern Munich and Liverpool FC tied for titles

The Bavarian club and the Reds each have 6 Champions League titles. Liverpool’s first victory dates back to 1977 against Borussia M’Gladbach with a score of 3-1. The following year, it was against FC Bruges that the Reds won their second trophy (1-0). In 1981, the Liverpool club won against Real Madrid and won its third title (1-0).

Three years later, the Reds are once again crowned kings of Europe by beating AS Roma. In 2005, Liverpool won AC Milan on penalties (3-2). At halftime of this game, the Reds were already down 3-0. They came back in the second half by equalizing 3-3. Finally the last crown of Liverpool was acquired in 2019 against Tottenham Hotspur (2-1).

Bayern Munich secured their first Champions League title in 1974 against Atlético de Madrid. Then, the Bavarian club chained the following two years by beating in 1975 Leeds United (2-0) and in 1976 AS St Etienne (1-0). In 2001, it was FC Valence that Bayern Munich defeated to win their 4th Champions League (1-1/5 tab 4).

In 2013, the Bavarian club beat its rival Borussia Dortmund 2-1 and won the 5th Champions League in its history. Finally in 2020 against PSG, the teammates of Manuel Neuer and Thomas Müller take over and win their 6th title.

Barcelona the giant with 5 C1 titles

The Catalan club’s first title dates back to 1992. Against UC Sampdoria, the Blaugrana won 1-0 after extra time. It was not until 2006 that FC Barcelona again won the Champions League against Arsenal (2-1). In 2009, Messi and his teammates defeated Manchester United 2-1. Two later, we were treated to the same poster and the outcome remained the same.

FC Barcelona won again, but this time with a score of 2-0. The last coronation of the Catalan club dates back to 2015. Neymar, Messi and his team beat Juventus Turin in the final with a score of 3-1.

Ajax the best student in the Dutch league

With its 4 Champions League titles, Ajax Amsterdam is the 6th most successful team in the competition. His first coronation was won in 1971 against Panathinaikos with a score of 2-0. A year later, the Dutch club has Inter Milan (2-0). In 1973 it was against Juventus Turin that Ajax won their third title in the competition. Finally in 1995, the club won by the smallest of margins against AC Milan (1-0).

Summary of titled teams in the Champions League

1. Real Madrid (14)
2. AC Milan (7)
3. Liverpool F.C. (6)
4. Bayern Munich (6)
5. FC Barcelona (5)
6. Ajax Amsterdam (4)
7.Manchester United (3)
8. Inter Milano (3)
9. Benfica (2)
10. Nottingham Forest (2)
11. Juventus Torino (2)
12. FC Juventus Torino (2)
13. FC Porto (2)
14.Chelsea FC (2)
15. Celtic Glasgow (1)
16. Aston Villa FC (1)
17. Feyenoord Rotterdam (1)
18. PSV Eindhoven (1)
19. Borussia Dortmund (1)
20. Olympic Marseille (1)
21. Red Star Belgrade (1)
22. Steaua Bucharest (1)
23. Hamburger SV (1).

This is the essential of what you can take away from the winners of the Champions League. Place in the 2022-2023 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.