Skip to content

CAN 2022: the story of the birth of the African Cup of Nations

  • By Isma’il Kushkush
  • Journalist

Photo credit, CAF/Getty Images/Fifa Museum

image caption,

Sudan (left) and Ethiopia (right) have won the Nations Cup once each, while Egypt hold the record of seven titles

This year’s Africa Cup of Nations, bustling off the pitch but unspectacular on the pitch, also provides a window into the tournament’s debut.

Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan contested the first-ever Nations Cup in 1957, and it is the first time in 52 years that the three initial contenders for the competition have all featured in the same tournament.

“The return of the three teams to the same tournament gives a sense of pride and tradition deeply rooted in the competition,” explains sports journalist Baderldin Bakheit.

All three teams have lifted the coveted trophy, but while Egypt, champions of the tournament on their debut, have won the title seven times, Ethiopia and Sudan have just one title to their name.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.